Diplomatic and Official passport holders

Home  »  Diplomatic and Official passport holders

Admission of holders of Diplomatic and Official Passports at South African Ports of Entry


The Department of Home Affairs is, in accordance with its legislative mandate, is responsible for the facilitation of the legal entry and departure of all persons into and of the Republic through a designated port of entry.

As part of the entry requirements, foreigners travelling to South Africa should meet the following requirements:

· A recognised and ICAO compliant passport/travel document to be valid for no less than 30 days after the expiry of the intended stay and containing at least TWO unused (blank) visa pages;
· A valid visa, if required;
· A return/onward ticket; and
· A valid Yellow Fever certificate if the journey starts in or entails passing through the Yellow Fever belt of Africa or South America.

In line with Ministerial approval, certain categories of foreigners can be exempt from visa requirements for administrative purposes. This is the case with holders of diplomatic and official passport holders from several identified countries. Individuals falling within the categories of those who qualify for exemption as approved by the Minister in the bilateral visa agreements may be admitted provided they are able to satisfy the Immigration Officer upon admission of their bone fides.

Cognizance should be taken that the South African Immigration Services is the first line of security into the country. Under no circumstances will Immigration Services tolerate any undue pressure from third parties to admit diplomatic passport holders into the country without the required visas. Visitors should comply with the relevant visa requirements pertaining to that country.